Log In   |   Sign Up

Advertisement

Erebus Haunted Attraction Reviews

 
« Back To Profile Leave A Review »
  • 18 South Perry
  • Pontiac, MI
  • 248-332-7884
Details
Average Review
Review Me
Scare Factor
Scary
Appropriate For
not recommended for children under 13
Organization Type
Commercial / For Profit
Listing Categories
Haunted Houses
Review This Haunt
  • Email Verified Fun, but with some disappointment

    First, I did not find the attraction that scary simply because I do not scare easily, so others may find it scarier. However, I did find Erebus to be quite fun to walk through, and the price was reasonable since I went on a weekday. Be warned that parking is $5 cash, and if you buy a ticket there it is cash only. I did expect it to be crowded after reading some reviews before going, so I was not put off by the long line. Although, it was still a bit annoying when all the people in front of me were triggering the animatronic jump-scares. By the time I walked through the area, I knew what was coming and was not startled whatsoever. The special effects in Erebus were stunningly good and greatly contributed to fun. My favorite use of special effects was in the swamp area where they created a realistic looking fog that I had to walk through. The actors in the haunted house did their job excellently, they all stayed in character and seemed very into it. The major factor that brought my rating of the attraction down was the fact that they had me skip one or more areas of the haunted house, presumably because of how many people were there. When I was looking up information about the attraction, one of the features Erebus advertised the most was their "buried alive" ball area. I thought that sounded quite unique and fun, so I was looking forward to it. I was surprised and disappointed when I emerged from the ending of Erebus without going through that area. Since they had me skip that section, it also makes me wonder what else I missed simply because they were trying to get the crowds through as fast as possible. Overall, Erebus was a pretty good experience, but realizing that they made me skip one or more areas certainly put a damper on the fun. Next year, I will try a different haunted house in the area in hopes that my experience will not suffer from over-crowding like it did at Erebus.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 31-45 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Unsure
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Erebus fun

    Went for the first time with my friends, and wow it was so fun! We got vip tickets, and got right into the house. Definitely worth the money for vip tickets. The house itself didn’t have a lot of jump scares but the props and a the actors did amazing!! Some parts had my friends and I scared. The staff was also very friendly and super helpful. Definitely recommend for some excitement with your friends!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Enjoyed the haunt very much

    I and family, a group of six people, visited the haunt and we enjoyed the scares. The different storeys had separate themes and sets of scares. The scare factor was above par. The jump scares caught me by surprise. My mom screamed out loud, and the actors subsequently toned down their scare act to her. The hallways had a creepy feel to it, and the darkness builds your insecurity. Special effects and props were good. Kids were scared most by the clowns. Entry fee for all of us was reasonable. Check it out if you are looking for some good scares in Michigan.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted March 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    Thank you for the kind review. Come see us with new 2019 haunt. We hope to scare you again very soon!

  • Email Verified Loved the scares

    It was really scary. I am not the one to get scared but I still managed to scream here and there. The haunts were spaced out in the four floors of this building complex. Had fun exploring each scenes and the wait was not too long. The spacing and timing were good and got to see the haunts first hand. It was the actors who scored. They liked playing with our fear and it was like the adrenaline rush you feel when cornered and chased. You are sure to exhaust at the end of it. Recommending this to all.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    HA HA HA we like to scare. Come see us again for all new 2019 haunt!

  • Email Verified Scary fun, impressive special effects

    Scary fun. Four storeys of nerve wracking terrors. The line was a tad long. But once inside, the weariness of waiting in the queue vanished in a flash. It had some bone-chilling scares and special effects was impressive. The ever pervading darkness gives you no clue of what is going to happen next. I went with my GF and she screamed at almost every scare, and was holding on to my hand tight all the time. The clowns were creepy. Actors were professional and they knew exactly how to play with our insecurities. Overall, it was lots of fun and we had a blast. Recommend this place.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    We like you! Be sure to get Sept discount coupon on MichiganHauntedHouses.com for all new 2019 haunt!

  • Email Verified Good scares and creepy sets

    Erebus was amazing. Had good scares, creepy sets and grotesque looking actors. Unlike some of the reviews I saw, there was no group ahead of us, and hence we got to enjoy the full impact of the jump scares. My daughters screamed on few occasions. The dark hallways and rooms could creep you out. The scares were designed to take you by surprise. Actors all did a great job I thought. The clowns were my daughters’ favourite. Overall, it was great fun. I will come again next year for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    We like kids.....Be sure to look under your bed at night for 2019 we have a room for you! 2019 haunted Erebus is a scream be sure to get the clown special discount on Michigan Haunted Houses website. Early dead bird discount.

  • SCARYYYY

    Great place to spend with family and friends. It was a weekend and had a full house. We had the best party here with my friends. It was a four floors terror house and had a lot to be scared about. Scenes were terrific and a few were worthy of scream. That was not the end we also jumped and ran. The set was completely haunted such was the design. The actors were great. They knew the pulse of people and how to scare them. The set was humongous and had an eclectic mix of actors, props and animatronics. Will pay a visit again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    We will send you running down the dark, dark hall. Only one scream is deemed the deadly scream! Be sure to get here on Friday the 13th opening day and early dead birds discount is now here on Michigan Haunted Houses.com

  • Email Verified Fun, but with some disappointment

    First, I did not find the attraction that scary simply because I do not scare easily, so others may find it scarier. However, I did find Erebus to be quite fun to walk through, and the price was reasonable since I went on a weekday. Be warned that parking is $5 cash, and if you buy a ticket there it is cash only. I did expect it to be crowded after reading some reviews before going, so I was not put off by the long line. Although, it was still a bit annoying when all the people in front of me were triggering the animatronic jump-scares. By the time I walked through the area, I knew what was coming and was not startled whatsoever. The special effects in Erebus were stunningly good and greatly contributed to fun. My favorite use of special effects was in the swamp area where they created a realistic looking fog that I had to walk through. The actors in the haunted house did their job excellently, they all stayed in character and seemed very into it. The major factor that brought my rating of the attraction down was the fact that they had me skip one or more areas of the haunted house, presumably because of how many people were there. When I was looking up information about the attraction, one of the features Erebus advertised the most was their "buried alive" ball area. I thought that sounded quite unique and fun, so I was looking forward to it. I was surprised and disappointed when I emerged from the ending of Erebus without going through that area. Since they had me skip that section, it also makes me wonder what else I missed simply because they were trying to get the crowds through as fast as possible. Overall, Erebus was a pretty good experience, but realizing that they made me skip one or more areas certainly put a damper on the fun. Next year, I will try a different haunted house in the area in hopes that my experience will not suffer from over-crowding like it did at Erebus.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 31-45 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Unsure
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Erebus fun

    Went for the first time with my friends, and wow it was so fun! We got vip tickets, and got right into the house. Definitely worth the money for vip tickets. The house itself didn’t have a lot of jump scares but the props and a the actors did amazing!! Some parts had my friends and I scared. The staff was also very friendly and super helpful. Definitely recommend for some excitement with your friends!!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Email Verified Enjoyed the haunt very much

    I and family, a group of six people, visited the haunt and we enjoyed the scares. The different storeys had separate themes and sets of scares. The scare factor was above par. The jump scares caught me by surprise. My mom screamed out loud, and the actors subsequently toned down their scare act to her. The hallways had a creepy feel to it, and the darkness builds your insecurity. Special effects and props were good. Kids were scared most by the clowns. Entry fee for all of us was reasonable. Check it out if you are looking for some good scares in Michigan.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted March 2019

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    Thank you for the kind review. Come see us with new 2019 haunt. We hope to scare you again very soon!

  • Email Verified Loved the scares

    It was really scary. I am not the one to get scared but I still managed to scream here and there. The haunts were spaced out in the four floors of this building complex. Had fun exploring each scenes and the wait was not too long. The spacing and timing were good and got to see the haunts first hand. It was the actors who scored. They liked playing with our fear and it was like the adrenaline rush you feel when cornered and chased. You are sure to exhaust at the end of it. Recommending this to all.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    HA HA HA we like to scare. Come see us again for all new 2019 haunt!

  • Email Verified Scary fun, impressive special effects

    Scary fun. Four storeys of nerve wracking terrors. The line was a tad long. But once inside, the weariness of waiting in the queue vanished in a flash. It had some bone-chilling scares and special effects was impressive. The ever pervading darkness gives you no clue of what is going to happen next. I went with my GF and she screamed at almost every scare, and was holding on to my hand tight all the time. The clowns were creepy. Actors were professional and they knew exactly how to play with our insecurities. Overall, it was lots of fun and we had a blast. Recommend this place.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    We like you! Be sure to get Sept discount coupon on MichiganHauntedHouses.com for all new 2019 haunt!

  • Email Verified Good scares and creepy sets

    Erebus was amazing. Had good scares, creepy sets and grotesque looking actors. Unlike some of the reviews I saw, there was no group ahead of us, and hence we got to enjoy the full impact of the jump scares. My daughters screamed on few occasions. The dark hallways and rooms could creep you out. The scares were designed to take you by surprise. Actors all did a great job I thought. The clowns were my daughters’ favourite. Overall, it was great fun. I will come again next year for sure.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    We like kids.....Be sure to look under your bed at night for 2019 we have a room for you! 2019 haunted Erebus is a scream be sure to get the clown special discount on Michigan Haunted Houses website. Early dead bird discount.

  • SCARYYYY

    Great place to spend with family and friends. It was a weekend and had a full house. We had the best party here with my friends. It was a four floors terror house and had a lot to be scared about. Scenes were terrific and a few were worthy of scream. That was not the end we also jumped and ran. The set was completely haunted such was the design. The actors were great. They knew the pulse of people and how to scare them. The set was humongous and had an eclectic mix of actors, props and animatronics. Will pay a visit again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    We will send you running down the dark, dark hall. Only one scream is deemed the deadly scream! Be sure to get here on Friday the 13th opening day and early dead birds discount is now here on Michigan Haunted Houses.com

  • Email Verified Such an amazing and scary experience!

    This was my second year in a row going to Erebus with my fiance. Every year they do a different theme! Some things do stay the same but they're always incorporating new things and themes into it. Plus you really get what you pay for, with 4 floors of scares it's never boring! Plus my fiance and I love to make sure we are the first people in line so we can get our free shirts! I plan on coming back every year

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 1 found this review helpful

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    Freddy is waiting for you! It's opening day Friday the 13th. Be sure to take advantage of the online early discount as well, it's to die for! Link to MichiganHauntedHouses.com

  • Email Verified Innovative scares

    I and wife drove for an hour to reach Erebus, and it did not disappoint. It had some nice jump scares and scary looking characters that would creep you out. The dark hallways hide some innovative scares that I failed to anticipate. She screamed few times. The mirrors and clowns were something I’ve been seeing for the first time. The clowns virtually scared the crap out of us. The set design was impressive too. Staff was friendly, and the ticket rates were reasonable. I will come again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    Clowney Jack has lost his beans and he wants them back. So be sure to get the early dead bird discount. Friday the 13th is when we open for an all-new scream. Discounts now @ MichiganHauntedHouses.com

  • Email Verified Wow....will visit again!!

    We checked it out on a week day and it was not crowded. It was fine as we did not get to wait in the lines for long. This was a great way to spend the evening with your loved ones. Quite a different way. It was the props that frightened me the most. The lights, visuals and sound played key role to set the right ambience. It took us more than an hour to go through this completely and we are thankful the staff spaced out our group so we did not see what is coming.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted October 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    Thank you for the review we look forward to seeing you again very soon. Look for the early Dead bird discount on MichiganHauntedHouses.com now for opening day Friday The 13th.

  • Not impressed

    We use to go all the time. We missed the last couple of years but was excited to go this year because they said it was all new. Some of it is new but a lot of it is the same. We had a lot of first timers and they were not impressed either.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2018

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    Erebus Haunted Attraction replied Sep 4, 2019

    A scare a scream a clown in your dream. We hope you come to see an all-new haunt for 2019. Be sure to tell the keeper you were not impressed in 2018 neither were your friends. Sorry, you were not impressed so we leave you a discount for 2019. Open Haunt Friday the 13th discount @ MichiganHauntedHouses.com

  • State of the art special effects

    Let me tell you Erebus was worth it, good scary fun especially the state of the art Hollywood special effects. The whole setting was impressive and the actors were top notch and professional. I am rating them 10/10.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Fun for the whole family

    Although it was not very scary but was fun for the whole family. My kids were jumping and screaming the whole time and lots of laughing. We were impressed with the complete team. Would definitely go again.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Parking was a let-down

    Me and husband had lots of fun. It was not too much scary. Parking was a let-down though.. to pay $10 for parking for an hour after paying $70 for two tickets was rip-off.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Pretty scary and filled with fun

    I will not say it’s the best but it is good. Haunted House is pretty scary and filled with fun. I visited with my grandchildren and we had really a great time. Staff was polite and friendly. Good effort by the team. Overall, Erebus haunt was a good experience.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Had lots of fun

    We had lots of fun in Erebus. We loved the animatronics part. But I do wish that some of the displays were better lit up. The "water" effect area was super awesome looking.. loved it. The dino area was also nice. We also got a free T-shirt. Looking forward to visit the place next year as well.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Amazing Halloween scary fun!

    I usually travel to different haunt houses every Halloween to have some scary fun. But this one was just amazing! Four storeys of heart-thumping terror… The queue was a bit long..but it was definitely worth the wait. The special effects are state-of-the-art to say the least. The sophistication of the scares easily rivals the wizardry you’d seen in Hollywood movies or in the Universal Studio. The darkness keeps you on your toes, and yes, I got scared few times. The actors certainly love what they do. Next time, I’ll come with my kids. It is a unique experience for everybody to enjoy.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted November 2017

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • Email Verified Not Impressed

    Despite the special effects, costumes, and sets being absolutely amazing, Erebus just doesn't live up to the hype. I went on a Saturday night, and it just wasn't scary. Actors were hit or miss. Some were very good and seemed like actual messed up dead people, whereas others just weren't great and broke character often. More often than not, all they did was ask us how many were in our group and rushed us into the next area. The haunt itself was probably about a half hour long, but it was hard to tell when it actually started because it seemed like we were going from line to line throughout the entire thing. It was very difficult to get immersed because we heard all of the scares from the groups in front of us. My friend and I walked out of the attraction disappointed, saying, "that's it?" The special effects were magnificent and the sets were very well done, but the scare factor and some of the actors just didn't live up to the type at all. I was hoping for at least a free picture or something along those lines for the price of the ticket, but I was disappointed there too. Perhaps if I returned on a week night it might be more satisfying, but overall the experience was disappointing, and I can't say I would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a real scare.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 31-45 minutes
    Time Visited: After 9PM
    Would Recommend: No
    Suitable For Kids: Yes
    Posted October 2016

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • This place is awesome!

    I've been going here for about 3 years and its always new. You could do a little better on the price but otherwise it's super scary and fun. If your in for a spook, Erebus is the place to be!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • This place is awesome!

    I've been going here for about 3 years and its always new. You could do a little better on the price but otherwise it's super scary and fun. If your in for a spook, Erebus is the place to be!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Length of Event: 45-60 minutes
    Time Visited: 5PM - 9PM
    Would Recommend: Yes
    Suitable For Kids: No
    Posted October 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    3 out of 3 found this review helpful

  • A Fun and haunting experience that is so worth it.

    In every room at Erebus is fear ready to get you. If you are easy to scare, you will be terrified. If you are a little more used to the whole haunted house scene it's still a entertaining experience, but don't be fooled. You will still have at least one scare get you really good. There is something for everyone here. This season has real potential and has a lot of really talented and passionate actors. A must see Halloween attraction great whenever they are open.

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted September 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    4 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Scariest haunt in the world

    I love this haunt it gets scarier every year #1 haunt in my book

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted August 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • I Never seen another haunt like this!

    I have been to many haunts and this has stuff I have never seen before! Great Job!

    Scare Factor:
    Fun Factor:
    Haunt Value:
    Posted July 2015

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Worth It

    I really enjoyed it. My group went on a thursday night, so the ticket prices were a bit cheaper and the wait wasn't bad at all. One of my friends had been before and noted that they'd changed some things and had some new stuff. To be honest, my group is hard to impress- some of us having worked in haunted houses before- but we all raved about it when we left. All of us jumped more than once, lol. I was impressed w/ the staff, the actors were excellent and the special effects really were fantastic. Try it!

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    5 out of 5 found this review helpful

  • Liked it.

    Went to Erebus after just going to small ones around my hometown. Wanted something bigger and better do decided to make the drive from Lansing to Pontiac. House was great. It's more of a play on your senses and fears house to me than actual scare factor. No mainstream characters to scare you like Micheal Myers which would've been nice but overall a good haunted house and will be returning.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

  • Still The Same

    I hadn't been in over five years but was drug to it this year. The price was still way too high for the over propped and special effect walk through.It had a few new things but for the most part it was the same story with a lot of the same things. This is not the place to go if you want a scare but if you're into effects and props you may enjoy it. For me nothing is worth $28 dollars at this place.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 4 found this review helpful

  • not all it's cracked up to be

    I read a ton of reviews and seen all the "top ratings" and thought awesome a good haunted house. Maybe my expectations were too high but it was not scary. There were some nice sets and neat special effects but there were definitely not enough actors and the groups were sent in too close together. Literally met with the group ahead of us and behind us inside the haunted house. Not worth the $28 to get in or the 2 hour wait. We were all definitely disappointed.

    Posted October 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    2 out of 6 found this review helpful

  • Loved it!

    When I went, me and my guest were the only ones there and we had so much fun! I usually go to Erebus every year and nothing really changes, but this year a lot of new things were added on which made my experience even better! Erebus is a haunted house you just have to go to once in your life! The only thing is that I wished there were more actors, but the ones they have do a fantastic job!

    Posted September 2014

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    1 out of 2 found this review helpful

  • Erebus Keeps Getting Better!!

    This Year, 2013 we were lucky enough to get a Friday the 13th in September. Erebus Opened its Doors to start the Halloween season off just right! I went on the 2nd night, Saturday the 14th, and had a spooky good time. This was only my 2nd time visiting Erebus and I was anticipating to be SCARED! And Erebus Delivered!! I went with my girl friend and we both experienced exactly what we were looking for....Fear! The cast was Great, I notice upgrades from last year, and never were we rushed through or felt unentertained. I suggest visiting Erebus Year after Year, It's One of the Best!!

    Posted September 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

  • DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!

    The effects are very neat but if you want to be scared do not waste your money!!

    Posted August 2013

    Was this review helpful? YES NO

    0 out of 1 found this review helpful

Erebus Haunted Attraction
Review This Attraction

  • Click to rate
  • Do not use all capital letters. No profanity.
  • Be specific - the more details the better. No HTML.
  • Optional
  • Administrative use only. Will NOT be displayed
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • Click to rate
  • I have more to say about this haunt (optional)
  • Would you recommended to a friend?
  • Suitable for families with kids?